Pita bread

I continue my baking/photography series (you want me to continue, right?) with this picture of pita bread. Pitas are small hollow flatbreads, very handy when you want to keep your fingers clean: simply cut them open and fill with your favourite meat, cheese or veggies, cold or hot! Toast them before splitting for a better crunch! Turn them into mini pizzas: cut in half, spread your hottest pizza topping and bake in the oven for a couple of minutes, just until the cheese melts.

Pitas are very easy to make: you’ll only need flour, yeast, salt and water. I also like to add a spoon of olive oil to help them stay fresh longer and a pinch of flax or sesame seeds – to make the taste more interesting. I used this recipe as a starting point and now I just go “by the feeling”. I think every home baker should give them a try at least once, if only to see the dull flat circles turn into nice, puffy pillows: and make sure to stay close to the oven to see the magic work!

pita-bread

And now excuse me, I’m going to toast one of them and eat it with a smear of butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon – yes, I’m as spoilt as that!

4 thoughts on “Pita bread

  1. Linda says:

    I am spending way too much time here on your blog! Too much fun here to leave :) I love your patterns and now I am planning on making pita bread tomorrow!
    I have listed my blog, but it is woefully neglected. I have since gone back to knitting and can’t wait to work on some of them – thank you!

Write a comment:

