Welcome, 2015!

welcome2015It’s January 6th and the blogs and websites around the globe are full of New Year resolutions. It’s rather inspiring to see so much hope and optimism in the middle of winter and I’ve been playing with the idea of writing my own list for a while… but no! I’m not making any New Year resolutions. Instead, I’ll profit from this atmosphere of universal bliss to recharge my batteries and reflect on the year to come.

Will it be a good one?

I hope so.

Anyway, what is a “good” year? In wine making, a good year is one with optimal weather conditions allowing the grapes to ripen to their full. In business, a good year is one that’s brought high profits. But a good year in one’s life? 2014 was a “good” year for me but it was also the year when my Grandma died. I loved my Gran but, all things put together, I still think it was a good year… That’s the problem with drawing bottom-lines: even if you manage to remember all the events of the year and calculate the positive to negative ratio, the result won’t necessarily reflect how you feel about it. Feelings don’t easily quantify and it’s probably better this way.

So, what do I expect from 2015? The answer is simple: whatever it brings.

Come on, 2015, surprise me!

P.S. Don’t worry, dear readers, skipping the to-do list doesn’t mean I’m short of ideas and projects – as you will soon see!

Write a comment:

