Week 4: Entrelac

w4 I’ve always thought entrelac was not for me… Often worked in highly contrasting colours, it looks somewhat kitschy… And I’ve never really liked modular knitting in variegated yarn… But hey, why not give it a try – just for fun? And – who knows – I might come up with something I’ll like… Time to break the rules!

This is what it looks like:

I’m a little late with my writing (AND my knitting) but there’s still time before Sunday, right? The reason for my lagging behind is that I’m searching for a PERFECT entrelac recipe AND I would really like to be able to incorporate in into a larger piece of knitwork WITHOUT having to knit the entrelac panel first and do a lot of picking up and/or sewing afterwards… Oh, haven’t I told you I’m a perfectionist? Well, now you know!

Anyway, here are a couple of tutorials you may find useful.

If you have half an hour to spare, check this one: it’s excruciatingly detailed, packed with interactive features (I never knew one could add links to a video so they appear on top of it…) and – the fact I appreciate most – it’s very friendly. If you don’t have 28 minutes, don’t despair: the video is divided into 5 parts. Step by step, you will learn to knit a scarf, that is, a rectangle of any size, in entrelac.

I have found another nice tutorial – a picture tutorial this time – very helpful. And the author shows you how to knit entrelac in the round too!

Part one

Part two

Entrelac in the round

And here is my homework! I must admit that I haven’t done all I wanted (a real torture for the perfectionist in me) but I’ll go on experimenting!

w4-homework

My verdict: As you can see, I have tried two methods of forming the lower border of the diamonds: knitting (purling when on the wrong side) all the stitches and alternating knit and slip stitches: knit the edge stitch on the right side and slip it on the wrong side. The knit-and-slip method leaves you with a neat chain that looks somewhat detached from the main fabric while the knit all method results in a less distinct wavy chain. Personally, I prefer this second variant but it’s up to you to decide which one you like best.

And now, as usual, a couple of free patterns featuring entrelac: a baby blanket from nikkiinstitches and a sweater from Debbie Bliss.

Good knitting to everyone!

2 thoughts on “Week 4: Entrelac

  1. kbsalazar says:

    A good choice. On this piece I like how the entrelac avoids the classic “lost on a chess board” look by graduating the size of the patches in proportion to the hat’s shaping. And don’t count out entrelac in variegated. In a monocolor space dyed variegated (for example all shades of blue) a small patch entrelac can give a very painterly, impressionistic effect. It’s also good for the small splotch variegateds, where one or more colors are speckled on a uniform background tone – if worked in entrelac, you get a nice sprinkled effect, rather than something that looks like the out take of a Morse Code student. Looking forward to your explorations! -K.

Write a comment:

