DK Ume

Ta-daam! As promised, I have test-knitted Ume in DK yarn and, to tell you the truth, I like it even more! I prefer hats that have some volume, so DK is my first choice for this pattern.

The yarn I have used is wonderful but tricky: 100% Wensleydale, the shiniest sheep wool in existence, but also a fibre that has almost no spring. I have cheated it into shape by knitting the last 10 rows on 3mm needles as tightly as I could and adding a rubber thread on the cast-off row. If you use a different, springier yarn, this won’t be a problem: just follow the pattern up to the end.

A couple of pictures to tempt you!

Image

Side view

Image

Back view

And now – grab your needles!

2 thoughts on “DK Ume

Write a comment:

